Recently one of our customers received a strange email, a copy of which is shown below. Their keyword is shown below as XXXX.
=====
We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia. which mainly deal with the global companies' domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia.
Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.
On 10 Nov,2010, we received an application formally.
One company named "E.peop Holdings Ltd" wanted to applied for the Internet Keyword " XXXX" and some domain names through our body.
These days we are dealing with it. After our initial investigation, we found that these domain names and Internet Keyword applied for registration are as same as your company's name. We hope to get the confirmation of your company because that may affect to your intellectual property on internet. I wonder whether you consigned E.peop company to register these domain names and Internet Keyword through us? If yes, we will complete the registration on these domain names and Internet Keyword. Or you do not even know this company what so ever? Now we haven't finished the registration of E.peop company yet, and we have postponed this application of this company temporarily already.
In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Alice
Auditing Department
Tel: 00852-37556670 ( Direct )
Fax: 00852-37556671
Email:Alice@webworld.hk
Web:http://www.webworld.hk
=====
The web site looks like a perfectly legitimate domain name registration company but this is a variant of a well known scam.
Beware!
Links
http://sw1design.com/network-trademark-domain-registration-scam/
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1217879
http://www.healthbusinessblog.com/?p=1620
http://www.bloptimization.com/2008/01/asia-domain-name-registration-limited.html